Free Physiotherapy Software: The Limits

Finezjo, Medfile Free and ZenMed Free cost PLN 0. Check the visit and SMS limits, what paid plans add and what to ask before you start.
Three records programs for physiotherapists now have a variant at PLN 0. It sounds like an obvious choice, but "free" means something different in each of them. Below are the limits, the differences and the questions worth asking before you enter your first patients.
Prices and limits according to the vendors' websites as of 3 November 2026. Price lists change, so check the current offer before you choose.
In brief
- Finezjo, Medfile Free and ZenMed Free cost PLN 0, but the limits differ: Medfile Free is 40 visits a month, ZenMed Free is 50 visits and up to 120 patient records, and Finezjo does not state a visit limit on its websites.
- With a full schedule, a free plan with a visit limit works more like a trial version.
- Your own visit templates, consents on a tablet and invoices are in the paid plans of ZenMed and Medfile.
- The first paid plan is, by our calculation, from PLN 468 net a year (RSQ Physio) to PLN 1,428 gross a year (Medfile Plus with monthly payment).
- The price of the software does not change one thing: you prepare the practice documents independently of it.
The three free plans at a glance
| Finezjo | Medfile Free | ZenMed Free | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | PLN 0 | PLN 0 | PLN 0 |
| Who is behind the program | Polish Chamber of Physiotherapists (Krajowa Izba Fizjoterapeutów) | Medfile sp. z o.o. | ZenMed App sp. z o.o. |
| Users | Unlimited according to the price list | 1 user, no option to add more | 1 specialist |
| Visits | The website does not state a limit | 40 visits a month | 50 visits a month, up to 120 patient records |
| SMS | Unlimited according to the price list | 10 SMS | Paid separately in every plan (pack of 1,000 SMS: PLN 159) |
| Record and coding | ICD-9, ICD-10, ICF, functioning tests | Visit record with a complaint drawing tool, ICD-10 and ICF codes | Visit record with a body outline, ICF, ICD-10, ICD-9 |
| What a paid plan adds | The website does not describe paid plans for physiotherapists | From Plus (PLN 119 gross/month): unlimited visits, your own visit records, invoices | From Start (PLN 49 gross/month): visit templates, invoices, KSeF, reports. From Standard (PLN 109): consents on a tablet |
As a point of reference: RSQ Physio has no free plan. It costs PLN 39 net a month per user (an additional user is another PLN 39 net), SMS are unlimited according to the website, and you can test it for the first 30 days at no charge.
What the visit limit means
The visit limit is the biggest difference in practice. An example based on our assumption: if you see 8 patients a day, the limit of 40 visits in Medfile Free runs out after 5 working days in a month, and the limit of 50 visits in ZenMed Free after about 6 days. With a few visits a week a free plan may be enough. With a full schedule it is more of a trial version.
ZenMed Free also has a limit of 120 patient records. A practice with several hundred patients in its database will exceed it quickly.
Finezjo stands out from the rest in that its websites do not state limits on visits or patients. It is still worth reading the app's terms.
How much the first paid plan costs
When a free plan stops being enough, the bill looks like this (our calculation, one user, monthly payment):
| Program | First paid plan | Price | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZenMed | Start | PLN 49 gross/month | PLN 588 gross |
| RSQ Physio | The only plan | PLN 39 net/month | PLN 468 net |
| Medfile | Plus | PLN 119 gross/month | PLN 1,428 gross (PLN 1,308 with annual payment, according to the website) |
Note the difference between net and gross prices. RSQ Physio states net prices, while ZenMed and Medfile state gross. Medfile also states a surcharge for an additional user (in the Plus plan PLN 79 a month), and ZenMed charges per physiotherapist.
What to watch out for in free software
- Limits. Check the limit on visits, patient records and SMS. If you send patients appointment reminders, 10 SMS a month is enough for a few visits, so with a full schedule you need to buy a pack or send them another way.
- Features in paid plans. Your own visit templates, consents on a tablet and invoices are in the paid plans of ZenMed and Medfile. If you need them, compare the prices of the paid plans, not the free ones.
- Data and export. Ask in what format you can export your records when you change software. Medical records must be kept for the period set out in the law, whichever software you use (see archiving medical records).
- Data processing agreement. The vendor of free software processes your patients' data in the same way as the vendor of paid software. Article 28 GDPR requires a contract or another legal instrument in that situation. Check whether the vendor provides one. More in 10 questions for a software vendor.
- Who is behind the program. Finezjo is run by a professional chamber, while Medfile and ZenMed are commercial companies with paid plans. Plans and limits can change, so follow the vendor's announcements and review the terms at every major change.
Free software does not take care of practice documents
The price of the software does not change one thing: the patient record and calendar are only part of a practice's documents. The organizational regulations, hygiene plan, sanitary procedures and data protection documents you prepare regardless of whether the software costs PLN 0 or several hundred zloty a year. We describe this in the article Is records software enough for a physiotherapy practice? How Finezjo itself works is covered in Finezjo: what it includes and what it won't replace.
Software at PLN 0, practice documents separately. The FUNDAMENT package is a guide to RPWDL registration, organizational regulations, premises and liability insurance checklists, and sanitary procedures as Word files. Data protection documents come only with the PREMIUM package. See the FUNDAMENT package or compare all packages.
Frequently asked questions
Is free software enough for a solo practice?
It depends on the number of visits. With a few visits a week, the limits of Medfile Free (40 visits) and ZenMed Free (50 visits) may be enough. With a full schedule you will use them up in a few days of the month. Finezjo does not state visit limits, but its websites also do not describe all the terms of use.
Can I change software during my business?
Yes, but it is worth planning. Before you give up a program, export your records and check what the contract with the vendor says about data after the service ends. ZenMed states on its website that after the contract is terminated it hands over data in JSON and CSV formats; with other vendors, ask about the export format.
Which free software is best?
There is no single answer. Finezjo does not state limits on visits and patients on its website, and has a database of functioning tests and anatomical models. ZenMed Free has a body outline in the visit record and an online booking widget, but a limit of 50 visits and 120 records. Medfile Free has the lowest visit limit (40) and a complaint drawing tool in the record. Choose according to how you work and test two programs on a few visits.
Will a paid program give me regulations and sanitary procedures?
In the offer descriptions we checked, there are no ready-made organizational regulations or sanitary procedures. Check the template library in your software.
Related articles:
- Finezjo: what it includes and what it won't replace
- Is records software enough for a physiotherapy practice?
- Choosing EDM software for your practice
- EDM: electronic medical records